Public Law Division



Legislation Projects Units I and II

Legislation Projects Units I and II are responsible for preparing public law enactments for which the FJDP is in overall charge. These are laws related to the functioning of state institutions, federalism and democracy; to the implementation of fundamental rights and, in general, to all matters that do not fall within the remit of any other department or area of management. Projects involve all legislative levels (Constitution, acts, ordinances). In addition, the two units help to improve the drafting and evaluation of legislation within the administration. They organise the legislation course and the legislation forum and develop legislative drafting tools for the administration (e.g. the guide on legislative drafting).

Legislation Projects Unit I mainly deals with legislation projects relating to the protection of personal data, equality (in particular the equal treatment of men and women), artificial intelligence, transparency in the Administration, transparency of political party funding, federalism, relations between the Confederation and the cantons, and regional autonomy. It also drafts dispatches guaranteeing cantonal constitutions and legislation on issues related to religion within federal jurisdiction. It is the Confederation’s point of contact for matters relating to religious freedom and ensures coordination between the federal services in this area.

The most important fields of activity of the Legislation Projects Unit II (RP II) are victim support, procedural law and the organization of the judiciary, as well as gambling, the law governing the legal profession and the political rights at constitutional level. RP II also carries out oversight tasks in the areas of gambling, the law governing the legal profession and victim support. RP II is also responsible for issues relating to political rights, administrative procedures such as administrative penalties and in-house lawyers. Furthermore, RP II is responsible for complaints to the Federal Council and projects, that are formally within the remit responsible of the Federal Assembly, such as the introduction of the voting age of 16.

Other issues can be assigned to either of the two units (e.g. government reform, organisation of the judiciary, etc.).

Legislation Units I and II

Legislation Units I and II are charged with essentially the same tasks, i.e. supervising the legislative projects of other agencies and offices. This means that the legal merits of everything that is to be set down in rules of law at the federal level (articles of the constitution, provisions of primary and secondary legislation) must be reviewed by these Units. Among the points examined are: Does the decree have a sufficient legal basis? Is it in accordance with fundamental rights and constitutional principles? Is it appropriate within the legal environment? Is it logically structured and worded in an understandable manner? Does it possess inherent inconsistencies or does it contradict existing law? Does it contain superfluous provisions?

Both Units work closely with the Federal Chancellery (Legal Service and Language Services) when it comes to legislative and editorial aspects. Both are also members of the government's internal Editorial Commission.

In addition to overseeing legislative projects, Legislation Units I and II are also commissioned to draft advisory opinions on constitutional and administrative law issues. Generally speaking, they examine the legal merits of matters to be submitted to the Federal Council. In so doing, they function as the central legal service to the Federal Council and Federal Administration. In some cases they are also involved in the treatment of legislative issues in parliamentary commissions.

Legislation Units I and II differ only in term of their "clientele": Unit I is primarily responsible for tasks assigned to it by the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs (FDFA), the Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA), the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sports (DDPS) and various units of the Federal Department of Justice and Police (FDJP) (particularly police matters, laws pertaining to aliens, asylum law and regional planning) and the Federal Chancellery (e.g. governmental and administrative organisation). Unit II is mainly responsible for tasks assigned to it by the Federal Department of Finance (FDF), the Federal Department of Economic Affairs, Education and Research (EAER), the Federal Department of the Environment, Transport, Energy and Communications (DETEC), various units of the FDJP (particularly laws relating to industry and the economy) and the Federal Chancellery (e.g. political rights).

Unit for Legislation on Digitalisation Matters

his unit provides services on draft legislation relating to digitalisation. These services are available to the federal authorities and, to a certain extent, other interested parties. Like the units responsible for overseeing the drafting of laws (Legislation Units I and II) and the FOJ's activities in legisprudence, this unit works to ensure that all items of federal legislation comply with the set legal framework and are of high quality. Achieving these objectives is particularly challenging with regard to digitalisation, as far-reaching changes are taking place at a range of different levels and at an extremely rapid pace.

In striving to achieve these objectives, the Unit for Legislation on Digitalisation Matters provides services in two areas, primarily for all federal authorities involved in drawing up legislation:

  • Early-stage advice: The unit provides advice on digitalisation matters in legislation to all federal offices and entities with the primary responsibility for drawing up legislation. This advice complements the services of Legislation Units I and II. It focuses in particular on the early drafting phase, when the quality assurance processes applied when laws are drafted are not yet in place. It does not replace the FOJ’s law review process or the work of the Internal Drafting Committee (VIRK) in the office consultation process.
  • Knowledge management: The unit is tasked with gathering and processing knowledge about legislation on digitalisation matters and making this available to all federal authorities and other interested parties. These services complement the FOJ's other services in the field of legisprudence.

The Unit for Legislation on Digitalisation Matters provides these services in all areas of federal law, but only for the drafting of legislation relating to digitalisation.

Like Legislation Units I and II, this unit is tasked with providing expert opinions on issues of constitutional and administrative law, and in some cases is involved when the parliamentary committees deal with legislative matters.

International Human Rights Unit

The International Human Rights Unit deals with legal questions on human rights both at international level (Council of Europe, United Nations) and at national level (incorporating human rights protection instruments into national law). Its tasks include compiling and submitting Switzerland’s periodic reports on the UN Pact II (the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights), and assisting in compiling and presenting reports on other international human rights agreements by the respective lead agency. The unit also plays a part in international organisations‘ committees of experts on human rights issues, especially Council of Europe committees, in preparing the conferences of the European ministers of justice for the head of the Federal Department of Justice and Police, and in supporting the work of the Swiss Centre of Expertise in Human Rights (SCHR).

The head of unit represents Switzerland at the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR), on the UN Committee against Torture (CAT), on the UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), and on the UN Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD).

European Law and Schengen/Dublin Co-ordination Unit

The European Law and Schengen/Dublin Co-ordination Unit deals with legal questions concerning European integration. For example, the unit examines the Federal Council’s draft legislation and ordinances for their compatibility with bilateral agreements and European law, it compiles legal assessments and it participates in drafting federal legislation and parts of the Federal Council‘s messages dealing with bilateral agreements and European law. The unit is also involved in negotiations with the European Union and in federal working groups that support negotiations. In doing so, it collaborates closely with the competent federal agencies, with the directorates of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs responsible for European policy and law, and with the cantonal authorities.

On behalf of the FDJP the unit performs a co-ordination function within and between federal departments. It deals with issues concerning the evolvement, incorporation and implementation of Schengen and Dublin/Eurodac further developments, providing support in this area to the competent federal agencies. The unit also works together with other federal agencies in compiling Switzerland‘s responses in preliminary ruling procedures before the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) on the interpretation of Schengen and Dublin law.

Compulsory Social Measures Unit

Switzerland currently coming to terms with a bleak period in its social history: the treatment suffered by children and young people as a result of compulsory social measures and forced placements outside their families prior to 1981. The Federal Act on Compulsory Social Measures and Placements prior to 1981 (CSMPA) came into force on 1 April 2017.

The CSMPA contains the legal basis for paying reparation to the victims of these measures. In recognition of the injustice that they suffered, and as an expression of social solidarity, victims are entitled to a payment of CHF 25,000. Applications for this solidarity payment should be submitted to and are assessed by the Compulsory Social Measures Unit.

The Compulsory Social Measures Unit also has a coordinating and supporting role, in particular in relation to self-help projects for victims and others who have been affected, and in connection with publicising and exploiting the results of research into compulsory social measures and placements.

Note

For the complete documentation see the pages in German, French or Italian.

Last modification 05.02.2024

Top of page

Contact

Federal Office of Justice
Public Law Division
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 41 37
F +41 58 462 78 79
info@bj.admin.ch

Print contact

https://www.nkvf.admin.ch/content/bj/en/home/das-bj/organisation/oeffr.html

Direktionsbereich Öffentliches Recht



Fachbereich Rechtsetzungsprojekte I und II

Die Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsprojekte I und II bereiten Erlasse des öffentlichen Rechts vor, für die das EJPD federführend ist. Dabei handelt es sich um Erlasse über die Funktionsweise der staatlichen Institutionen, den Föderalismus und die Demokratie, über die Umsetzung der Grundrechte und allgemein über sämtliche Themen, die nicht in die Zuständigkeit eines anderen Departements oder Direktionsbereichs fallen. Die Projekte sind auf allen Normstufen (Verfassung, Gesetz, Verordnung) angesiedelt. Darüber hinaus tragen die beiden Fachbereiche zur Förderung der Legistik und der Gesetzesevaluation in der Bundesverwaltung bei. Sie organisieren den Gesetzgebungskurs sowie das Forum für Rechtsetzung und erarbeiten Gesetzgebungsinstrumente für die Verwaltung (Gesetzgebungsleitfaden).

Der Fachbereich Rechtsetzungsprojekte I befasst sich insbesondere mit Rechtsetzungsprojekten in Zusammenhang mit dem Schutz von Personendaten, der Gleichstellung (namentlich der Gleichstellung von Frau und Mann), der künstlichen Intelligenz, dem Öffentlichkeitsprinzip in der Verwaltung, der Transparenz der Parteienfinanzierung, dem Föderalismus und dem Verhältnis zwischen Bund und Kantonen sowie der Autonomie der Regionen. Er verfasst ferner die Botschaften zur Gewährleistung der Kantonsverfassungen und befasst sich im Rahmen der Kompetenzen des Bundes mit Religionsthemen. Er koordiniert bundesintern Fragen mit Religionsbezug und ist in diesem Bereich Kontaktstelle für Kantone.

Die wichtigsten Themen des Fachbereichs Rechtsetzungsprojekte II (RP II) sind die Opferhilfe, das Verfahrensrecht und die Justizorganisation, weiter die Geldspiele, das Anwaltsgesetz sowie die politischen Rechte auf Ebene Verfassung. In den Bereichen Geldspiele, Anwaltsgesetz und Opferhilfe nimmt RP II auch die Oberaufsicht wahr. RP II ist des Weiteren zuständig für die Themen in Verbindung mit den politischen Rechten, dem Verwaltungsverfahren wie den Verwaltungssanktionen sowie den Unternehmensjuristinnen und -juristen. RP II ist auch verantwortlich für die Beschwerden an den Bundesrat und Projekte, die formell in der Verantwortung des Bundesversammlung liegen, wie die Einführung des Stimmrechtsalters 16.

Weitere Themen können dem einen oder anderen Fachbereich zugeteilt werden (z. B. Regierungsreform, Rechtspflege usw.).

Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsbegleitung I und II

Die Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsbegleitung I und II haben im Wesentlichen den gleichen Auftrag: "Begleitung" der Rechtsetzungsprojekte anderer Ämter und Dienststellen. Das heisst: alles, was im Bund in Rechtssätze (Verfassungsartikel, Gesetzes- oder Verordnungsbestimmungen) gegossen werden soll, muss von diesen Fachbereichen namentlich unter rechtlichen Gesichtspunkten geprüft werden. Zu prüfen sind etwa die folgenden Fragen: Hat ein Erlass eine genügende Rechtsgrundlage? Ist er mit den Grundrechten und mit den Verfassungsgrundsätzen sowie mit dem internationalen Recht vereinbar? Passt er ins rechtliche Umfeld? Ist er logisch aufgebaut und verständlich formuliert? Birgt er keine inneren Widersprüche oder Widersprüche zu bestehendem Recht? Enthält er überflüssige Normen?

Was die gesetzestechnischen und redaktionellen Aspekte anbelangt, arbeiten die beiden Fachbereiche eng mit der Bundeskanzlei (Rechtsdienst und Sprachdienste) zusammen. Sie wirken in der verwaltungsinternen Redaktionskommission mit.

Neben der eigentlichen Rechtsetzungsbegleitung werden die Fachbereiche Rechtsetzungsbegleitung I und II auch mit der Erstattung von Rechtsgutachten zu staats- und verwaltungsrechtlichen Problemen beauftragt. Sie prüfen generell die Geschäfte, die dem Bundesrat unterbreitet werden aus rechtlicher Sicht. Sie sind somit gewissermassen der zentrale Rechtsdienst des Bundesrates und der Bundesverwaltung. In manchen Fällen wirken sie auch bei der Behandlung von Rechtsetzungsgeschäften in parlamentarischen Kommissionen mit.

Die beiden Fachbereiche unterscheiden sich lediglich in ihrem "Kundenkreis": Der Fachbereich I betreut hauptsächlich die Geschäfte aus dem Eidg. Departement für auswärtige Angelegenheiten (EDA), aus dem Eidg. Departement des Innern (EDI), aus dem Eidg. Departement für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport (VBS) sowie aus Teilbereichen des EJPD (insb. Polizeibereich, Ausländerrecht, Asylrecht, Raumplanung) und der Bundeskanzlei (z. B. Regierungs- und Verwaltungsorganisation). Der Fachbereich II betreut hauptsächlich die Geschäfte aus dem Eidg. Finanzdepartement (EFD), dem Eidgenössischen Departement für Wirtschaft, Bildung und Forschung (WBF) und dem Eidg. Departement für Umwelt, Verkehr, Energie und Kommunikation (UVEK) sowie aus Teilbereichen des EJPD (insb. wirtschaftsrelevante Regelungen) und der Bundeskanzlei (z. B. politische Rechte).

Fachbereich Rechtsetzung in Digitalisierungsfragen

Dieser Fachbereich erbringt Leistungen in Bezug auf Gesetzgebungsvorhaben, die einen besonderen Bezug zur Digitalisierung haben. Nutzen können diese Leistungen die Bundesbehörden und in einem gewissen Ausmass weitere Interessierte. Wie die Fachbereiche für Rechtsetzungsbegleitung und die Aktivitäten des BJ im Bereich der Legistik wirkt der Fachbereich darauf hin, dass die rechtsetzenden Erlasse des Bundes den vorgegebenen rechtlichen Rahmen wahren und von hoher Qualität sind. Diese Ziele zu erreichen, ist in Digitalisierungsfragen besonders anspruchsvoll, weil auf verschiedensten Ebenen tiefgreifende Umwälzungen ablaufen, und das in einem ausgesprochen hohen Tempo.

Als Beitrag zum Erreichen dieser Ziele erbringt der Fachbereich für Rechtsetzung in Digitalisierungsfragen in zwei Bereichen Leistungen primär für alle Bundesbehörden, die rechtsetzende Erlasse vorbereiten:

  • Frühphasenberatung: Er steht den federführenden Verwaltungseinheiten in Bezug auf die Rechtsetzung in Digitalisierungsfragen beratend zur Verfügung. Diese Beratung ergänzt die Leistungen der Fachbereiche für Rechtsetzungsbegleitung. Insbesondere ist sie auf frühe Projektphasen fokussiert, in denen die Qualitätssicherungsprozesse noch nicht ablaufen, die für alle Rechtsetzungsprojekte vorgesehen sind. Sie ersetzt nicht die Prüfung der Erlasse durch das BJ und die Verwaltungsinterne Redaktionskommission im Rahmen der Ämterkonsultation.
  • Wissensmanagement: Der Fachbereich hat die Aufgabe, das Wissen über die Rechtsetzung in Digitalisierungsfragen zu vernetzen, zu sammeln, aufzubereiten und allen Bundesbehörden sowie weiteren Interessierten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Diese Leistungen ergänzen die sonstigen Leistungen des BJ im Bereich der Legistik.

Diese Leistungen erbringt der Fachbereich Rechtsetzung in Digitalisierungsfragen in allen Bereichen des Bundesrechts, aber beschränkt auf Projekte, die einen besonderen Digitalisierungsbezug haben.

Wie die Fachbereiche für Rechtsetzungsbegleitung wird der Fachbereich für Rechtsetzung in Digitalisierungsfragen mit der Erstattung von Gutachten zu staats- und verwaltungsrechtlichen Fragen beauftragt, und er wirkt in manchen Fällen bei der Behandlung von Rechtsetzungsgeschäften in parlamentarischen Kommissionen mit.

Fachbereich Internationaler Menschenrechtsschutz

Der Fachbereich behandelt juristische Fragestellungen aus dem Bereich des internationalen Menschenrechtsschutzes, auf internationaler Ebene im Rahmen des Europarats und der Vereinten Nationen, auf nationaler Ebene im Rahmen der Umsetzung internationaler Menschenrechtsinstrumente im schweizerischen Recht. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören insbesondere die Ausarbeitung und Präsentation der periodischen Berichte der Schweiz zum UN-Pakt II, die Unterstützung bei der Ausarbeitung und Präsentation von Berichten zu anderen internationalen Menschenrechtsabkommen durch die jeweils federführenden Amtsstellen, die Mitwirkung in Expertenausschüssen internationaler Organisationen - insbesondere des Europarats - auf den Gebieten der Menschenrechte, die Vorbereitung der Konferenzen der europäischen Justizminister für die Departementsführung sowie die Begleitung der Arbeiten des Schweizerischen Kompetenzzentrums für Menschenrechte (SKMR).

Der Leiter des Fachbereichs ist gleichzeitig der Vertreter der Schweizer Regierung (Agent du Gouvernement suisse) vor dem Europäischen Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte (EGMR), dem UN-Ausschuss zur Verhütung der Folter (Committee Against Torture, CAT), dem UN-Ausschuss für die Beseitigung der Diskriminierung der Frau (Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women, CEDAW) sowie dem UN-Ausschuss für die Beseitigung der Rassendiskriminierung (Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, CERD).

Fachbereich Europarecht und Koordination Schengen/Dublin

Der Fachbereich behandelt juristische Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der europäischen Integration. So überprüft er Gesetzes- und Verordnungsentwürfe des Bundesrates auf ihre Vereinbarkeit mit dem Recht der bilateralen Verträge und, im Rahmen der Politik der Europaverträglichkeit, mit den massgeblichen Erlassen der Europäischen Union. Der Fachbereich erstellt juristische Gutachten und nimmt an der Ausarbeitung von Bundesgesetzen sowie der Kapitel der bundesrätlichen Botschaften teil, die sich mit den bilateralen Verträgen und mit Europarecht auseinandersetzen. Er wirkt zudem bei Verhandlungen mit der Europäischen Union in Verhandlungsdelegationen und verhandlungsbegleitenden Arbeitsgruppen des Bundes mit. Dabei arbeitet er eng mit den zuständigen Stellen der Bundesverwaltung, den für die Europapolitik und das Europarecht verantwortlichen Direktionen des EDA sowie den kantonalen Verwaltungen zusammen.

Im Bereich Schengen/Dublin erfüllt der Fachbereich ausserdem im Auftrag des EJPD eine intradepartementale und eine departementsübergreifende Koordinationsfunktion. Insbesondere wirkt er an der Behandlung von Dossiers und Fragen im Zusammenhang mit der Erarbeitung, Übernahme und Umsetzung von Weiterentwicklungen des Schengen- und des Dublin/Eurodac-Besitzstands mit und untersützt dabei die zuständigen Stellen der Bundesverwaltung. Schliesslich erarbeitet er in Zusammenarbeit mit den mitbeteiligten Stellen des Bundes Stellungnahmen, welche die Schweiz in die Auslegung von Schengen- und Dublin-Recht betreffenden Vorabentscheidungsverfahren vor dem Gerichtshof der Europäischen Union (EuGH) abgeben kann.

Fachbereich fürsorgerische Zwangsmassnahmen

Die Schweiz arbeitet gegenwärtig ein düsteres Kapitel ihrer Sozialgeschichte auf, die fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen vor 1981. Am 1. April 2017 ist das Bundesgesetz über die Aufarbeitung der fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen vor 1981 (AFZFG) in Kraft getreten.

Das AFZFG bildet unter anderem die Rechtsgrundlage für finanzielle Leistungen zugunsten der Opfer solcher Massnahmen: Als Zeichen der Anerkennung des erlittenen Unrechts sowie des Ausdrucks gesellschaftlicher Solidarität erhalten sie einen Solidaritätsbeitrag von 25 000 Franken. Gesuche für den Solidaritätsbeitrag sind beim Fachbereich FSZM einzureichen und werden von diesem geprüft.

Der Fachbereich FSZM nimmt auch Koordinations- und Förderaufgaben wahr, insbesondere im Bereich der sogenannten Selbsthilfeprojekte zugunsten von Opfern und Betroffenen sowie im Zusammenhang mit der Verbreitung und Nutzung der Forschungsergebnisse im Bereich der fürsorgerischen Zwangsmassnahmen und Fremdplatzierungen.

Letzte Änderung 17.01.2024

Zum Seitenanfang

Kontakt

Bundesamt für Justiz
Direktionsbereich Öffentliches Recht
Bundesrain 20
CH-3003 Bern
T +41 58 462 41 37
F +41 58 462 78 79
info@bj.admin.ch

Kontaktinformationen drucken

https://www.metas.ch/content/bj/de/home/das-bj/organisation/oeffr.html