Europol, whose headquarters are in The Hague in the Netherlands, is the European Union Agency for Law Enforcement Cooperation. Europol's mission is to support its members in preventing and combating cybercrime, terrorism and all forms of serious international and organised crime. “Europol” is a portmanteau of the former designation European Police Office. The agency became operative on 1 July 1999, and currently has a staff of about 1‘500, some 280 of whom are liaison officers from more than 45 states and 15 organisations.

A cooperation agreement between Switzerland and Europol took effect on 1 March 2006. The agreement facilitates the exchange of strategic, operational and other specific information. To enhance cooperation, four liaison officers of the Federal Office of Police (fedpol) and a liaison officer of the Federal Office for Customs and Border Security (FOCBS) have been posted to The Hague.
In 2018, the mandate of the agreement was expanded to 30 crime areas.



Last modification 06.03.2023

Top of page