Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)

As part of Switzerland’s strategy for the Horn of Africa (2013-2016), Switzerland launched a regional programme with the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD). The IGAD is a regional organisation of states in the Horn of Africa, with its headquarters in Djibouti. Its member states are Ethiopia, Somalia, Eritrea (membership suspended), Kenya, Sudan, South Sudan and Uganda. This programme is funded by the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) and the State Secretariat for Migration (SEM).


Its main objective is to build capacities among the migration-relevant stakeholders at a national and regional level. This focuses on three specific elements:

  • Strengthening regional migration dialogue (IGAD Regional Consultative Process)
  • Developing national coordination mechanisms in migration issues
  • Training modules in international migration law as well as migration and development.

Last modification 25.07.2016

Top of page